Highest-paid college football coaches 2022: Dabo Swinney’s latest extension sees him climb the ranks

The highest-paid college football coaches have annual salaries that’ll make anyone’s head spin,

 but that’s why they’re put in charge of numerous young men and tasked with shepherding powerhouse programs to perpetual prominence.

While some coaches on this list at the nation’s premier football schools probably aren’t going to surprise,

the order may well be a shock to many. One thing to keep in mind, being among the highest-paid college football coaches

 doesn’t guarantee job security. From our list in 2021, three prominent names were fired.

Without further ado, here are the highest-paid college football coaches by annual salary as of the most recent season.

This group is compiled from USA Today‘s list, but takes into account coaching changes, compensation information, or lack thereof, and the latest available information.

ust missed: Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern – $5.748 million Chip Kelly, UCLA Bruins – $5.6 million Steve Sarkisian, Texas – $5.45 million

Highest-paid coaches fired in 2021: Gary Patterson, TCU – $6.1 million salary Dan Mullen, Florida – $7.57 million salary Ed Orgeron, LSU – $9.01 million salary

One thing to keep in mind, the salaries of the highest paid coaches in college football aren’t slowing down.

 Even before it landed USC and UCLA, the Big Ten wanted huge money for the TV rights to its games.

 When college football realignment leads to super conferences, even more coaches will make $10-plus million each year.

Let’s dive into the highest paid college football coaches in 2022.

1. Nick Saban salary: $11.7 million (Alabama)

2. Dabo Swinney salary: $11.5 million (Clemson)

3. Kirby Smart salary: $11.25 million (Georgia)

4. Lincoln Riley salary (estimated): $10-plus million (USC)

5. Brian Kelly salary: $9.5 million (LSU)

6. Mel Tucker salary: $9.5 million (MIchigan State)

7. Ryan Day salary: $9.5 million (Ohio State)

8. David Shaw salary: $8.925 million'

9. Mario Cristobal salary: $8 million (Miami)

10. Jimbo Fisher salary: $7.5 million (Texas A&M)

11. Lane Kiffin salary: $7.25 million (Ole Miss)

12. Jim Harbaugh salary: $7.05 million (Michigan)

13. James Franklin salary: $7 million (Penn State)

Next story

Brian Kelly opens up on why he left Notre Dame for LSU